Archive

Posts Tagged ‘Traffic Violations’

Fines and penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey

September 11, 2014 Leave a comment

Drunk driving is considered as a very serious offense in New Jersey. While there is obviously and estimate of how much a person can drink to keep his BAC or Blood Alcohol Concentration below 0.8 to avoid arrest, it is extremely difficult to make an assumption. Hence, it is generally recommended to refrain from drinking alcohol or taking other sorts of drugs before driving in the state of New Jersey. Moreover, despite the fact that a first time offender has to pay lesser fines and face penalties of low severity, getting booked for this crime in New Jersey is equivalent to losing one’s freedom, respect, dignity and future for the rest of his or her life. Explained below are the possible fines and penalties that are applied for offenders of drunk driving according to the criminal law New Jersey.

 Although drunk driving was never considered as a very serious offense in New Jersey previously, the subsequent serious crimes that occurred as a result of drunk driving made the law authorities take this violation as a serious crime. The penalties and punishments offered for drunk driving today, vary depending on whether the person is a first time, second time or a third time offender and the levels of alcohol concentration found in his or her blood while driving.

First time offender with BAC of .08 or below .10:

This is the offense for which the most lenient of punishments are used. The first time offenders of drunk driving according to the criminal law New Jersey are penalized by seizing their driving license for 3 months. They are also made to pay a fine of $250 to $400, apart from paying other compensations like $200 for DWI Enforcement Fund, $75 for Safe Neighborhood Fund, $50 for Violent Crime Compensation Board Fund, $150 for IDRC, $200 for New Jersey MVC Restoration Charges and $33 for Court Charges. The offender is also made to stay in jail for a maximum of 30 days and in Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for at least 12 hours to a maximum of 48 hours.

First time offender with BAC of .10:

A fine of $300 to $500, suspension of driver’s license for 7 months to 1 year and an imprisonment of not more than 30 days is charged to a first time offender having a BAC level at or above .10, according to criminal law New Jersey.

Second time offender:

Fine of $500 to $1000 for 3 years, other additional fines, license suspension for 2 years, imprisonment for maximum 90 days and community service for 30 days is applied for a second time offender.

Third time offender:

The third time offender is made to remain in imprisonment for a maximum of 180 days and is made to pay a penalty of $1000 for three years and other fines. His or her driver’s license is also suspended for ten years.

For Further details Visit: Middlesex County Traffic Violations Lawyer or if you want an appointment contact Drunk Driving Lawyer Monmouth County here:  The Law Office of Marc B. Schram, P.C. Airport Plaza, 1390 State Route 36, Suite 101, Hazlet, NJ 07730.

Phone: (732) 888.4400

To Read More about Traffic Violations Click:
Speeding in New Jersey

Advertisements

Keep your driving record clean with the help of traffic ticket attorney

September 5, 2014 Leave a comment

Traffic tickets and driving related charges are quite a normal phenomenon for people who drive. Now in the present day context the requirement of having a personal vehicle is quite a natural factor. But what if you get busted for traffic violation? It is a common thought to just pay off the fine and go on your way. But have you ever thought of the consequences it might have on your driving record. There are often cases where people might be wrongfully charged with traffic violation or for slightest reasons. Although it is the easiest to pay off the fine and be on your way but there is always another means where you can fight the charges and present your point of view.

The traffic ticket lawyers are just the ones who can help you with cases when you are charged with traffic violation. There can be several reasons for getting a ticket including different charges like reckless driving, drunk driving, driving under influence, wrong parking and several other traffic charges. The best thing to do when you are willing to fight against such charges or to reduce the penalty is to seek the assistance of a traffic lawyer. These attorneys specialize in traffic related laws and cases and therefore, can be of great assistance for any kind of traffic charges.

Now you might have the question how can a traffic attorney help me with my traffic ticket. The most important thing to know in this respect is that the assistance of a traffic attorney means that you have the minute details of traffic laws by your side and an experienced professional can easily figure it out if you are wrongfully charged with traffic violation. On the other hand if it really is your mistake and the traffic violation is your fault alone then also a traffic attorney can help your cause by reducing the penalty. In several cases it is possible that the charges are dropped completely therefore your driving record remains clean.

Now if you have the thoughts about how to contact a traffic attorney the best means are right in front of you. These days the internet and the web world have the answers to most questions. Just a quick web research can help you find a traffic attorney in your area. On the other hand you can also ask around your friends and family circles to get the referral for an attorney. This way you can also have a bit more information about the abilities of the attorney. Therefore, think twice before paying off your traffic fines and consult an attorney.

For further details visit New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney or if you wants an appointment then contact Essex County Traffic Violations Lawyer here: 347 Mount Pleasant Avenue, Suite 203 West Orange, New Jersey 0705. Phone# (866)-856 1562