Home > Traffic violations > Drunk driving in New Jersey- What you need to know?

Drunk driving in New Jersey- What you need to know?

New Jersey is one such state that is extremely particular about drunk driving. Police officials here do not take even a moment to book the intoxicated drivers with a case of drunk driving. While some other states only have DUI as a drunk driving law, New Jersey being stricter and more conservative, also has a separate law with the name of DWI. DUI is the acronym for Driving Under Influence and DWI is the acronym for Driving While Intoxicated. A person who has been found to stir forth from these criminal law New Jersey are often fined and put behind the bars. Apart from that, the guilty person’s driver license is also seized for a period of one month to two years, depending on the seriousness of the crime that the guilty has been found to have committed. However, subsequent convictions for crimes of same nature may make a person lose his or her driving license for as long as lifetime.

With visits to bars and parties taking up a center stage in the lives of people, driving while being intoxicated or drunk has become a common phenomenon now a days. However, New Jersey is not a state that is kind to the guilty of drunk driving criminal law New Jersey cases. While other states generally book a teenager up to the age of 21 for having a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.02, New Jersey has limited the limit to 0.01. The laws of DUI and DWI are also a lot stricter in New Jersey and the guilty may also end up serving in jail or performing community service for a certain period of time.

Punishment for 1st time conviction

The punishments for the first time convicts who have been charged for drunk driving according to the criminal law New Jersey are a lot lenient. The officers upon booking the person guilty of the crime, seize their general driver’s license for a period of three to twelve months and apart from that, they are also charged with several fines. First of all, a fine of $500 is charged as penalty, $30 for court costs, $25 for physician’s fees, $100 for drunk driving enforcement fund surcharge, $75 for safe neighborhood fund surcharge and $50 for victims of crime compensation board penalties. The driver may also be put behind the bars for a minimum of 12 hours and a maximum of 48 hours.

 Punishment for 2nd time conviction

People found guilty for drunk driving according to criminal law New Jersey are slammed with more fierce fine amounts and driver’s license cancellation, which may extend up to 2 years.

For Further details Visit: Monmouth County Traffic Violations Lawyer or if you want an appointment contact Middlesex County DUI/DWI Lawyer here:  The Law Office of Marc B. Schram, P.C. Airport Plaza, 1390 State Route 36, Suite 101, Hazlet, NJ 07730.

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 2, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: